InfoWorld 100

SAN FRANCISCO (11/07/2003) - Information technology transforms the way we work and think about business. But it takes bold vision to accomplish real change. The visionaries are still out there, judging by the projects that won this year's InfoWorld 100 awards, which honor IT initiatives making use of innovative technology to further their organizations' goals.

Our top three winners took traditional businesses to new levels of efficiency and real-time data delivery. Citigroup transformed its antiquated paper trading system on the floor of the New York Stock Exchange by building a wireless system to eliminate manual trades and to assist brokers in making sophisticated, speedy trading decisions. Maines Paper and Food Service, a food supplier to restaurants, equipped workers at its distribution center with voice-recognition equipment that dramatically improved their accuracy rate. And Arrow Electronics created an XML-based inquiry system to sort through complex data to give customers critical pricing information in less than 30 seconds.

Rounding out the top five are the accomplishments of two other noteworthy projects by Java Architectures Special Interest Group (JA-SIG) and Hartford Hospital.

Congratulations to all the winners.

InfoWorld 100 Winners

Education

Ball State University, digital media sharing, bsu.edu

Dartmouth College, functional magnetic resonance imaging, fmridc.org

Delaware State University, networked smart cards, desu.edu

George Mason University, optical Ethernet solution, gmu.edu

Golden Gate University, e-business initiative, ggu.edu

JA-SIG Collaborative, uPortal, ja-sig.org

MIT, content management system, ocw.mit.edu

New Intelligence, diversity education system, newintel.com

Plano Independent School District, remote network access, pisd.edu

University of Dayton, intrusion prevention system, udayton.edu

Energy

Calpine, daily plant production reports, calpine.com

Financial Services

Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce (CIBC), HR information and services system, cibc.com

Citigroup, NYSE Handheld Order Management System, citigroup.com

GMAC Commercial Holding Capital Corp., loan-process automation and integration, gmacchcapital.com

Morgan Stanley, enterprise query services, morganstanley.com

Morgan Stanley, event-driven database, morganstanley.com

Mutual Service, access infrastructure solution, mutualservice.com

Paymentech, Web application layer scanner, paymentech.com

U.S. Bancorp, business continuity and virtual storage management, usbancorp.com

UnumProvident, integrated disability management tool, unumprovident.com

Visa USA, Web-based dispute resolution tool, visa.com

Government

Brevard County, fingerprint ID system, brevardcounty.us

City of Beverly Hills, datacenter, beverlyhills.org

Nevada County, integrated information portal, mynevadacounty.com

Florida Department of Law Enforcement, information security, fdle.state.fl.us

Los Alamos National Laboratory, handheld radiation monitors, lanl.gov

Montgomery County Children Services, Web-based case management system, montcsb.org

Naval Criminal Investigative Service, satellite broadband services, ncis.navy.mil

New York City Department of Buildings, inspection and permit Web service, nyc.gov

Oakland Police Department, Wi-Fi deployment for mobile users in police cars and motorcycles, oaklandnet.com

State of Vermont Office of Child Support, child support BI system, ocs.state.vt.us

U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, paper document conversion to electronic format, eeoc.gov

Health Care

American Association of Diabetes Educators, national diabetes data repository and Web service, aadenet.org

American Hospital Association, single sign-on portal with content sharing for members, aha.org

Bayer Yakuhin (Bayer Pharmaceutical Japan subsidiary), mobile task force automation software, bayer.co.jp/byl

Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, knowledge sharing and collaboration, boehringer-ingelheim.com

Children's Memorial Hospital, data and text mining, childrensmemorial.org

Hartford Hospital, physician access project, harthosp.org

HealthNow New York, medical billing/information EDI solution, healthnowny.com

Jewish Hospital, paperless hospital, jhhs.org

Lancaster General, SSL VPN appliance, lancastergeneral.org

Memorial Health Systems, electronic medical record system, mhsil.com

Mercy Medical Center, wireless voice-activated communication badges, mercyrose.org

Pfizer, managed broadband access network, pfizer.com

Seattle Children's Hospital and Regional Medical Center, wireless Tablet PC document management, seattlechildrens.org

St. Joseph's Hospital, wireless network, stjh.info

Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center, data storage and security, wfubmc.edu

Manufacturing/Distribution

American Italian Pasta, customer-oriented supply chain solution, aipc.com

Arrow Electronics, worldwide price and availability, arrow.com

Graybar, ERP system, graybar.com

Kirchner, mobile sales force PDA solution, kirchnercorp.com

Maines Paper and Food Service, selection accuracy project, maines.net

PowerSki International, design and Web collaboration solution, powerski.com

The Memec Group, supply chain integration, memec.com

Media/Publishing

Internet Broadcasting Systems, viewer polling system, ibsys.com

Retail

CSK Auto, BI solution, cskauto.com

7-Eleven, self-service financial services, 7-eleven.com

Services

AdvancePCS, enterprise change-management solution, advancepcs.com

Answerthink, best practices implementation knowledge repository, answerthink.com

Bio Economic Research Association (Bio-ERA), portal developed with open source, bio-era.net

Canadian Red Cross Society, workflow and collaboration system, redcross.ca

CIGNA, integrated online benefits control panel, cigna.com

Corbis, digital media watermarking solution, corbis.com

Globix, integrated CRM system, globix.com

Goodwill Industries of San Francisco, San Mateo, and Marin Counties, Web-based open source data warehouse, sfgoodwill.org

Iron Mountain, SSL VPN, ironmountain.com

Keesal, Young & Logan, wireless implementation, kyl.com

LocalHarvest, GIS-enabled search and e-commerce engine, localharvest.org

Mercur Assistance AG Holding, information aggregation portal, mercur.de

Ogilvy & Mather, worldwide digital courier service, ogilvy.com

Roto-Rooter Services, wireless productivity solution, rotorooter.com

S&H Greenpoints, electronic marketing tool, greenpoints.com

Sony Broadband Services, Web services infrastructure, sony.com

The Well Project, enterprise content management system, thewellproject.com

TransUnion, secure identity management, transunion.com

United Parcel Service (UPS), global wireless connectivity solution, ups.com

Technology

Algor & Inecom Entertainment Company (Algor's subsidiary), backup system, algor.com

Cisco, digital workflow process, cisco.com

Digital Mail Maker, Web services marketing tool, digitalmailmaker.com

Ingram Micro, eAccounting online system, ingrammicro.com

Manhattan Associates, enterprise CRM, manh.com

OutStart, online CRM, outstart.com

Overland Storage, customer support system, overlandstorage.com

PolyVision, sales force productivity tool, polyvision.com

Qualys, automated software development and testing, qualys.com

Rackspace Managed Hosting, security against denial of service attacks, rackspace.com

Wunderground (Weather Underground), radar upgrade, wunderground.com

Telecommunications

net.com, rules-based allocation engine, net.com

RCN, document management system, rcn.com

Transportation

ABF Freight System, automated Web personalization, abf.com

ABF Freight System, microbrowser-based transportation network, abf.com

Horizon Services Group, shipping Web service, horizonservicesgroup.com

Progress Rail Services, enterprise data scorecard, progressrail.com

Travel/Leisure

Brookfield Zoo, .Net accessibility solution, brookfieldzoo.org

Philadelphia Eagles, stadium communications network, philadelphiaeagles.com

iJET Travel Risk Management, travel intelligence system, ijet.com

Indianapolis Motor Speedway, physical security monitoring system, brickyard.com

John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, storage solution, kennedy-center.org

Kampgrounds of America, campground wireless Internet connectivity, koa.com

Sonance, e-store and portal, sonance.com

Join the newsletter!

Error: Please check your email address.

More about AdvancePCSAIPCanswerthinkArrow Electronics AustraliaBayer AustraliaCIBCCigna Life Insurance New ZealandCitigroupCorbisCSKDigital CourierGlobixInecomIngram MicroIron MountainManhattan AssociatesMITMorgan StanleyNaval Criminal Investigative ServiceNYSEOutStartOverland StoragePaymentechPfizer AustraliaQualysRackspaceRackspace Managed HostingRCNSonyTransportationUnited Parcel ServiceUnumProvidentVisa

Show Comments

Market Place

[]