Advanced Network board meets

Five board members gather in Wellington

The board of the company that will run New Zealand's high-speed Advanced Network for the research and tertiary education sector has been established and has held its first meeting in Wellington.

The members of the board of Research and Education Advanced Network New Zealand Limited are:

  • Dr James Watson (chair), founder and board member of Genesis Research & Development Corporation and current president of the Royal Society of New Zealand.
  • Dr Rick Pridmore, chief executive of the National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research.
  • Professor Warwick Clegg, pro vice-chancellor for information technology at Victoria University.
  • Jane Taylor, a barrister from Queenstown.
  • Carol Moffat, previously the Ministry of Education's project manager of interactive education and director of Multiserve Education Trust and Core Education Trust.

The company will run as a not-for-profit limited liability company. Its members will include New Zealand's tertiary education institutions, Crown Research Institutes and the National Library.

The Advanced Network is an optical network backbone linking research and education institutes in Auckland, Hamilton, Palmerston North, Wellington, Christchurch and Dunedin with regional connections to Hawkes Bay, Nelson and Rotorua.

Tenders for the first phase of construction of the network are currently being considered.

Join the newsletter!


Sign up to gain exclusive access to email subscriptions, event invitations, competitions, giveaways, and much more.

Membership is free, and your security and privacy remain protected. View our privacy policy before signing up.

Error: Please check your email address.

Tags advanced network

More about Victoria UniversityVictoria University

Show Comments