Gmail lets users hit panic button with 'Undo Send' tool

'Undo Send' button designed to hold emails for five seconds

Ever have one of those 'oops' moments?

You know, you just hit 'send' for that off-colour email and you realise that you sent it to your boss instead of your friend. Or maybe you accidentally replied to all when you were joking about what a waste of time the group is.

Well, Google has added a feature to its Gmail email service that may help eliminate the chance of having one of those moments.

Google's Gmail Labs has created an 'Undo Send' button, which is designed to hold emails for five seconds — but only five seconds — so the sender can pull them back if necessary.

"My theory (which others shared) was that even just five seconds would be enough time to catch most of those regrettable emails," wrote Michael Leggett, Google's user experience designer, in a blog post yesterday. "Turn on Undo Send in Gmail Labs under Settings, and you'll see a new Undo link on every sent mail confirmation. Click Undo and we'll grab the message before it's sent and take you right back to compose."

The Undo Send feature is the latest of several Gmail updates announced by Google over the last few months.

In February, the Google announced that Gmail could automatically show the location of email writers. The new Location in Signature feature uses public IP addresses to determine the sender's location. Users who want to keep their locations private can disable the option.

And late in January, Google launched an updated version of Gmail that lets users access their accounts without an internet connection. The updated service, also developed in the Gmail Labs, will give flight to users who have been wanting to get some work done while on a plane, for instance. Now, even without an internet connection, users can read email, write new ones and archive others — all while 30,000 feet in the air.

Join the newsletter!

Error: Please check your email address.
Show Comments

Market Place

[]