New councillor, two fellows created at InternetNZ AGM

Software engineer and self-proclaimed 'geek' Brenda Wallace has been elected as the latest new member of InternetNZ's ruling council

Software engineer and self-proclaimed “geek” Brenda Wallace has been elected as the latest new member of InternetNZ’s ruling council. She will serve a three-year term.

Wallace is currently a production engineer at Weta Digital. She describes her role thus: “I build, glue and duct-tape the stuff that goes between giant and/or archaic systems and make them play nicely with each other - and then sometimes I get to replace giant archaic systems with lightweight small systems that do the job even better.”

The other two successful candidates were already council members and were re-elected – consultant Michael Foley for a further one-year term and Hamish MacEwan, consultant and radio commentator on ICT matters, who will serve for a further three years.

Election results were announced at InternetNZ’s recent annual general meeting at NetHui. There were six nominations for three vacancies on the council.

Two new fellows of InternetNZ were also named at the meeting - Dean Pemberton and Donna Hiser.

Pemberton “has worked on the front-line of internet-related technical policy for much of his career and is widely regarded as possessing an unmatched level of excellence in the internetworking field,” says president Frank March.

“He has held a number of senior network engineering positions and, for many years, has been deeply involved with important technical groups including the New Zealand IPv6 Task Force, the New Zealand Network Operators Group and the Wellington Loop.”

The Wellington Loop is a community of schools sharing services over fibre cable.

Hiser “has been highly involved with InternetNZ for the past 12 years, in both management and governance roles,” says March.

“A driving force” for many years within InternetNZ subsidiary company NZ Registry Services, which coordinates registration of .nz domain names, “she played a pivotal role in implementing New Zealand’s Shared Registry System and has been a steady hand and a party to bringing stability and sensibility to the overall operation of .nz,” March says.

This year’s election also saw the unopposed re-election of Frank March and Jamie Baddeley to their president and vice-president positions. Both will serve a three year term.

Sue Sutherland, Richard Orzecki and Peter Lane also stood for council but were not elected.

Join the newsletter!


Sign up to gain exclusive access to email subscriptions, event invitations, competitions, giveaways, and much more.

Membership is free, and your security and privacy remain protected. View our privacy policy before signing up.

Error: Please check your email address.
Show Comments