Chorus confirms UFB rollout plan for 2013/14

Eight new urban areas to recieve UFB between 2013 and 2014

Chorus has announced its plans for the third year of its part in the government's $1.35 billion UFB network rollout.

Between July 2013 and June 2014, Chorus says it will start deploying fibre to eight new urban areas including Waiuku, Pukekehohe, Gisborne, Feilding, Levin, Kapati, Upper Hutt, and Greymouth.

Chorus says it consulted with local councils and businesses in the area regarding timelines, and is currently planning for the fourth year of fibre roll outs.

"We're building momentum with 62,000 customers already in reach of fibre services today, and some 240 crews working across the country," says Chris Dyhrberg, general manager of network build at Chorus.

Chorus also announced today its plan to build out Gisborne's fibre network to schools and rural areas as a part of the Rural Broadband Initiative. Chorus says Gisborne's RBI build is in partnership with FX Networks, and worth $12.4 million. The two companies say they expect this part of Gisborne's fibre network to be completed by July 2013 ahead of the UFB deployment in urban areas.

Chorus Year 3 Roll Out Plan

Ashburton: some areas in Allenton, Tinwald, and Netherby

Auckland: some areas in Pinehill, Northcross, Rothesay Bay, Browns Bay, Rosedale, Sunnynook, Forest Hill, Milford, Northcote, Birkenhead, Chatswood, Beach Haven, Auckland’s central business district, Newton, New Lynn, Glen Eden, Henderson, Onehunga, Mangere and Mangere East, Papatoetoe, East Tamaki

Blenheim: some areas of Witherlea

Dunedin: some areas in Halfway Bush, Kaikorai, Kenmure, Saint Clair and Mosgiel

Feilding: Central Feilding

Gisborne: Some areas of the central business district and Inner Kaiti

Greymouth: some of the central business area.

Invercargill: some areas in Waikiwi, Newfield, Waverly and Windsor

Kapiti: some areas of Paraparaumu

Levin: some areas of central Levin

Masterton: the Lansdowne and central Masterton area

Napier & Hastings: some areas of Onekawa, and Taradale in Napier. Some areas of the central business district and Flaxmere in Hastings.

Nelson and Richmond: some of the outer areas of Richmond township and the Stoke and Nelson Airport area.

Oamaru: some areas in Holmes Hill, South Hill, and Oamaru North,

Palmerston North: some areas of Hokowhitu and Milson

Pukekohe – some of the central areas of Pukekohe township

Queenstown: some of the Frankton and Fernhill area

Rotorua: some areas of Westbrook, Tihiotonga, Springfield and Lynmore

Taupo: some areas in Acacia Bay, Brentwood, Tauhara, Richmond Heights and areas around Rangatira Park.

Timaru: some areas in Westend, Gleniti and Marchwiel

Waiuku: some of the central areas of Waiuku township

Greater Wellington region including Masterton: Wellington (some of the central business area), Hutt City (some areas of Lower Hutt, Gracefield, Silverstream, and Upper Hutt), Porirua (some areas of Tawa, Cannons Creek, Waitangirua, Whitby, Paramate and Plimmerton), Masterton (some of the northern areas of the town).

Whakatane: some of the northern and central areas of the township.

Join the newsletter!


Sign up to gain exclusive access to email subscriptions, event invitations, competitions, giveaways, and much more.

Membership is free, and your security and privacy remain protected. View our privacy policy before signing up.

Error: Please check your email address.
Show Comments